CanROC Site Summary – Alberta


University of Alberta

Department of Emergency Medicine

Department of Critical Care Medicine

Faculty in both the Department of Emergency Medicine and Critical Care at the University of Alberta have experience and expertise in resuscitation science. Our faculty of Clinician Scientists consist of intensivists, cardiologists, emergency nurses and physicians. Resuscitation research completed by our colleagues include: systematic reviews, experimental and simulation trials and registry related research. Our scope of work and expertise covers the continuum of resuscitation from the prehospital to rehabilitation phases. Opportunities exist for Alberta-wide research with ground EMS, fixed-wing critical care as well as the helicopter service Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society. The Department of Critical Care also has an ultrasound program with a resuscitation focus.

Investigators/Researchers who would consider supervising/mentoring students include:

Dr. Peter Brindley – Professor & Intensivist

Dr. Sean Van Diepen – Academic Cardiologist, Intensivist

Dr. Alison Kabaroff – Assistant Clinical Professor, Medical Director Edmonton EMS

Matthew J. Douma RN – Clinical Nurse Educator, Academic Scholar


University of Calgary

Department of Emergency Medicine

Department of Community Health Sciences

The Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Calgary has an EMS fellowship and there are opportunities for research-based graduate degrees through Community Health Sciences for those who are FRCP certified in Emergency Medicine.

Investigators who would consider supervising/mentoring students:

Dr. Eddie Lang – Professor, Emergency Physician, Academic and Clinical Department Head

Dr. Andrew McRae PhD – Assistant Professor, Research Director, Emergency Physician

Dr. Grant Innes – Professor, Emergency Physician

Dr. Henry Thomas Stelfox – Professor, Head Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Christopher Doig – Professor, Intensivist